More Information.
Dragons Care & Coronavirus (COVID-19) ResponseMore details.Hide details.
Dragons Care: A Plan to Return to Campus & COVID-19 GuidelinesMore Information

Academic Affairs

  • Print
  • Roland and Beth Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award
    Application Deadline: April 29, 2020

    The Dille Fund for Excellence is a permanent endowment established in 1994 by the MSUM Alumni Foundation, through the generosity of MSUM Alumni and Friends, to honor the University's former president, Roland Dille and his wife, Beth Dille. The endowment raised nearly $3.2 million in gifts and pledges in 1994 and supports annual grants and the Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award.

    Each year, the Dille Fund for Excellence Committee and the President select one MSUM faculty member to receive the Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award. The Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award is one of the highest honors Minnesota State University Moorhead bestows to its faculty. Honorees receive a $1,200 honorarium and commemorative desk clock in a brief ceremony before they present the annual Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecture to an audience of campus and community members.

     The Dille Fund for Excellence is inviting nominations for the 2020-2021 Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award.  Award nominees must be:

    • tenured faculty members (in any discipline) at Minnesota State University Moorhead;
    • respected by students and their peers for their roles as teachers and scholars;
    • respected by their peers for developing stimulating ideas; and
    • dynamic communicators, able to effectively present their ideas to an audience with wide-ranging backgrounds.

    Faculty, staff, students and administrators may submit nominations for the 2019-2020 Award by April 29, 2019. To nominate a MSUM faculty member for this prestigious honor, send a letter detailing how the individual embodies the criteria of the Dille Fund for Excellence Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award to: Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Owens Hall 206. Questions should be directed to Michelle Moyano at 218.477.2415.

    Application Deadline: April 29, 2020

    Dille Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award Recipients:

    • 2019-2020 Dr. Ellen Brisch
    • 2018-2019 Dr. Jeremy Carney, School of Social Work, "#ElectronicBoundaries:  Managing Professional Relationships and Modern Technology"
    • 2017-2018 Dr. Paul Kramer, Economics, Law and Politics, "Who is Manipulating Your Vote?'
    • 2016-2017 Chris Walla, School of Visual Arts - Oct. 27, 2016 Award Celebration and Lecture Presentation
    • 2015-2016 Dr. Elizabeth Nawrot, Psychology, "The Thinking Baby: Developmental Science Beyond the Blank Slate"
    • 2014-2015: Dr. Adam Goyt, Mathematics, "To Infinity and Beyond"
    • 2013-2014: Dr. Brian Wisenden, Biosciences, "Minnows and Cichlids and Worms! Oh My!: Behavioral Ecology of Predator Avoidance, as Uncovered by Undergraduate Researchers"
    • 2012-2013: Dr. Benjamin Smith, Languages Department, "The Gift of Language"
    • 2011-2012: Dr. David Wheeler, Theatre Arts Department, "American Vaudeville"
    • 2010-2011: Dr. Terry Shoptaugh, MSUM Archivist, "With No Apologies to Tom Brokaw: The 'Baby Boom' as History"
    • 2008-2009: Wayne Gudmundson, Professor of Mass Communications, "Ancestral Landscapes: Iceland, Photography and Other Odd Bits"
    • 2007-2008: Dr. Anna Sigrídur Arnar, Professor of Art and Design, "Everything in the world exists in order to end up in a book."
    • 2006-2007: Dr. Rinita Dalen, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Earth Science, "Native American Landscapes: An Interdisciplinary Perspective"
    • 2005-2006: Dr. Andrew Conteh, Professor of Political Science, "International Humanitarian Law in the Modern Era"
    • 2004-2005: Dr. Richard Pemble, Professor of Biology, The Natural History of the Red River Valley Region Before European Settlement
    • 2003-2004: Dr. Susan C. Imbarrato, Associate Professor of English "Writing into the Ohio Frontier: Womens Travel Narratives, 1783-1830"
    • 2002-2003: Lin J. Enger, Associate Professor of English "What I'm Learning as I Read" an exploration of the importance of literature
    • 2001-2002: Dr. Kathleen Enz Finken, Associate Professor of Art History "The Art Historian's Eye: Or, 'Seeing is Believing' "
    • 2000-2001: Dr. Thomas Tammaro, Professor of Multidisciplinary Studies "Drinking from the Well by the Lake of Memory"
    • 1999-2000: Dr. Shawn Dunkirk, Professor of Chemistry "Bringing Chemistry to the Campus and Community: Reflections, Opinion, and Commentary"
    • 1998-1999: Dr. Theodore Gracyk, Professor of Philosophy "Autonomy, High Culture and Higher Education"
    • 1997-1998: Dr. Michael Michlovic, Professor of Anthropology and Earth Science "Archaeology, Myth-History and the Quest for the Ethnic Past"
    • 1996-1997: Dr. Mark Mostert, Professor, Special Education and Counseling